things that made me cry this weekend

Not that there’s much that doesn’t make me cry! I am such a crier. I wasn’t always this way; I remember realizing at some point in high school that I hadn’t cried in over a year. Things definitely changed as I got older! It doesn’t take me much to get teary these days, and new mom hormones (can I still blame those?) certainly don’t help the matter. This weekend a few things just sent me over the edge:

  • Frozen: So, crazy as this is, I hadn’t seen Frozen until this weekend. I was fighting it a bit because everyone loved it and I always hate bandwagons until I’m on them… But I loved this movie so much!! I literally cried about 10 times during it. Watching it (without Allie, given our no-TV-before-age-2 rule) made me (somewhat ironically) so excited to watch it with Allie when she’s older and can go princess-crazy. I also might have said to Ben, seeing the relationship between Elsa and Anna, that Allie needs a sister… (This is NOT an announcement!)
  • General Conference: My church (for those of you who aren’t members) has a televised conference twice a year with talks by our church leaders. I have definitely seen my spirituality diminish with my stress and sleep deprivation over the past few months, and this was a much-needed spiritual boost. Several of the talks as well as an in-between segment (about a family forgiving the man who killed their mom while driving) touched my heart and moved me to tears. I feel very motivated to be more positive, loving, productive, and grateful, despite the challenges of our current transitory state.
  • Sorting baby clothes: Allie continues to grow like a very beautiful weed (or maybe just a flower), and I’ve been meaning to go through her clothes and pack up anything too small. I finally did this the other night, and it was probably the socks that set me off. THEY ARE SO LITTLE! I remembered how small she was just a few months ago, and I suppose I cried because I realized she’ll only get bigger, and those days are gone. But I also cried because seeing how much she’s grown made me think of who she’ll grow to be. I’m basically obsessed with her. Sigh.

This week is supposed to be lovely and warm, and I am looking forward to (a) another date night with Ben (if all goes as planned), (b) my POPSUGAR April and Special Edition Resort boxes *hopefully* shipping, and (c) starting either the River of Time or Maze Runner series. Both first books are on their way, and I suppose I’ll let Ben start on one while I read the other. I am feeling so reenergized by spring, even with its temperamental comings and goings. Yay!

{Image via}

8 thoughts on “things that made me cry this weekend

  1. UH, I know how you feel…NOW! Being a pregnant lady has meant lots of crying for me. I never used to cry. I cry just about every other day-for happy things AND sad things. LOL. As for Allie growing up, I keep reminding myself that I will only have a BABY for a little while. He will actually grow up. I had these visions of always holding a little baby once he’s born. Just wanted to preclude myself from more future crying. LOL

    • Haha well you may be a stronger woman than I, but I would count on lots of crying! 🙂 It’s okay, though. Lots of happy tears. Especially since Allie was breech and I had a c-section, so the morphine made me all happy and loopy right after her birth. 🙂 It definitely is a new feeling caring SO much about someone!

  2. I feel like I go through these weird phases where sometimes I’m so sensitive that I can’t control the tears, and other times, I just won’t be able to recall the last time I shed a tear.

    I’ve been a bit of a basket case lately, now that I think about it. Oh well, sometimes, it feels good!

    xo Jackie
    Something About That

  3. AWe, little baby clothes STILL make me tear up, I have boxes of them in the basement that I can never give away;) Let me know how the Maze runner is, okay?I’ve been debating reading it and have heard great things!

Leave a Reply

