the travel lover’s love list

I used to always say that I love traveling, but as it turns out, I hate traveling. I love being places. But, for convention’s sake, this post is about travel in the being places sense. And also in the isn’t-the-world-amazing? sense.

Recently, my dear friend Emily shared a picture of this awesome push pin world map they got for their house, which I promptly added to my PLEASE BUY SOMEDAY bookmarks folder. But it got me thinking about a few other items I’ve encountered that pluck at the heartstrings of any globetrotter with a dream. In my case (and maybe yours, too), this is also closely related to a love of geography and maps. (As a sidenote, I am totally dominating in the geography categories on QuizUp. Feel free to join and challenge me.)

Without further ado, here’s my love list for travel lovers after my own heart:

  1. World push pin map: What better way to document your world domination/travels than a gorgeous, wood-framed push pin map? I jealous Emily hardcore for having this!
  2. Scratch map: This is along the same lines as the push pin map; let’s call it a starter version. A bit of a reverse life lotto ticket, as you scratch off the adventures you’ve already “won” (done).
  3. Travel Manager by Zero per Zero (image via): This urban, mappy wallet holds tickets, passports, and other travel essentials, with a few different featured cities as options.
  4. Pass Tag by Zero per Zero (image via): The more simple pass tag holds transit cards or doubles as a cool luggage tag.
  5. Travel journal: For me, a journal is a major travel must-have, and while the stampy exterior of this one isn’t necessary for collecting your travel thoughts, it certainly has an adventurous feel to it.
  6. Damsel On the Go gift set (image via): What’s a list from me without a surprise box? This Sesame Gifts box curated by the lovely Damsel in Dior includes a delightful assortment of travel goods in one fun package and makes for a great gift to yourself or a fellow travel lover!

I don’t know about you, but this is making me antsy for another trip here soon…

16 thoughts on “the travel lover’s love list

  1. Ohhh, I love these a lot. As a geography major, I can’t get enough of maps. The boyfriend got me the scratch map last year and I’m trying to figure out how to get it framed..it so fun and perfect!! Could be cute decor for Allie’s room?

  2. These are really cool! I’d love one of these scratch maps in particular. I think you can get them from Urban Outfitters too in the UK. Might need to go and have a look this weekend 😉 x

  3. Being places vs. actual travel is key- traveling is rough for me, because I’m a chronic over-packer/packing stress case, and I get irritated in crowded places like airports. However, I LOVE getting to the destination, exploring new cities, etc. 🙂

    -Ashley
    http://lestylorouge.com

    • I know! They are so fun! I can’t believe I don’t actually own one myself yet. I think I’ll eventually get one for my daughter’s room that she can scratch off and get excited about seeing the world.

Leave a Reply

