does mint count as green?

I don’t own a ton of green in my wardrobe. I do love teal and turquoise , but as for real greeny green, I’ve only got a few things. I think the reason is because I have blue eyes, and I’ve always had this idea that green would clash with them. This is ridiculous, I realize, so I’m starting to get over it. And one of the pieces of actual green clothing I own is a pair of colored denim jeans in kelly green. And so, with St. Patty’s Day coming up, I made a mental note to save these jeans for today. It would figure, of course, that when I went to change after church yesterday, the pair I just happened to grab were these same jeans. And even though maybe three people will see me today who saw me yesterday, I just have a thing about wearing the same thing two days in a row.

So I was a bit stuck today. Until I remembered a recent purchase of mine. Ben and I were walking Allie through the mall a couple of weeks ago, when I made him let me duck into Aeropostale for a second. He then said to me, “I think you grew out of this store 10 years ago.” But I barely heard him, because I was drawn to a section with my name plastered everywhere! If you’ve been to the store recently, you may have seen the Bethany Mota line. She is apparently some YouTube sensation all the kids know about. But despite not knowing who she was, the kid in me was SO EXCITED to see my name on a product, I decided I had to buy something. Since some mint jeans have been on my list for a while, I picked up this color wash jegging. Normally I’m super picky about jeans, but these fit really well, and they HAD MY NAME ON THEM, so obviously I had to buy them.

Anyway, my question to you is: by wearing these today, am I off the hook for green attire? Or is it only the real Irish green? Either way, happy St. Patty’s Day! For my friends in DC/MD/VA, enjoy your government-sanctioned drinking—err, I mean—snow day! (And you’re welcome!)

8 thoughts on “does mint count as green?

  1. You did way better than me, so it totally counts! I have a closet FULL of green and somehow ended up in almost all black on St. Patty’s. The snow day kinda took the fun out of it.

  2. LOVE the pants on you and LOVE that you can fit into things from Aeropostale! I’ve always been too hippy (as in wide hips not like Free People Hippie) for that store! 🙂 I totally steal from juniors every once in a while. I get a rush from the cheaper prices!

Leave a Reply

