let’s get scrappy

So… I think I’ve decided to start scrapbooking. I realize this sounds a bit like me saying, “I’ve decided to start using the internet,” in that so many people have been doing this for years and years, and any hope I have of becoming mildly competent at scrapbooking will be forever overshadowed by the masses of seriously talented experts out there. Including one of my sisters. She has a whole room in her house dedicated to it. I have a whole container! Thus far. But let’s be real here—scrapbooking is totally fun.

This is clearly a big deal. Honestly, I think I resisted the idea at first because it seemed like a lot of work, and I’d constantly feel the need to keep scrapbooking, but I’m realizing these things are counterbalanced by how much fun the actual work of creating a scrapbook can be. (This also *might* have to do with a recent visit to a craft store in the mall and discovering all the fun supplies in existence for scrapbooking. All the things!)

In any case, here I am, and I’m trying to decide how to go about it. Where do I start? Our first year of marriage? Allie’s first year of life? Mine? The fine ladies of A Beautiful Mess recently shared an awesomely helpful post about scrapbooking for beginners, which I’ll need to go back and review in detail. And I will probably just go ahead and give my sister a call to get her professional opinion.

In the meantime, I’ve started playing with a few ideas. Probably what I love most about scrapbooking is scrapbook paper. I mean, have you seen all the cute patterns out there? I keep buying sets of the paper with no real projects in mind, just because they are so cute. I also decided to create a few scrapbook pages of my own in Illustrator. Feel free to download and use them if you’d like!

I think for me there’s something about becoming a mom that has made me feel this urgency to document our lives. For Allie’s sake. And the sake of any future babes. It’s part that and part creative cabin fever. We’ll see how the great scrapbooking adventure goes. I don’t want to go overboard and have it be a hobby-turned-addiction, but I’m hoping it will serve as a creative outlet and means for me to counteract my fear of all these precious memories with my family slipping away. I shall keep you posted!

6 thoughts on “let’s get scrappy

Leave a Reply

