fabulous finds

Concomitant with my return to blogging has been a re-plunge into all the other amazing blogs out there. And people, there are so many. (To be honest, this is why I stopped in the first place. I became overwhelmed with all the awesome blogs, realized I could never faithfully follow all of them, and discouraged myself out of the blogosphere completely.)

Sidenote: This is why being a perfectionist, often lauded as such a great quality, is actually also the worst thing ever—the choice is often perfect or nothing. And as perfect is so hard to achieve, nothing often wins out.

gehu4yx8o41Anyway, I realized all too soon into this adventure of motherhood that not only is perfection impossible to achieve as a mom, but you’re lucky making it to halfway decent. So I’m working on the whole being-okay-with-okay thing. Thus me blogging again, in the hopes to simply find and post about good and great things, even if I can’t find and post about all of them.

And with that lengthy introduction, I share some of my finds from this week that you may also enjoy:

  • The Prowl: It’s kind of like Pinterest meets Facebook. Meets online shopping. Basically, you “prowl” (like pin, but more feline) things you like (such as the mug pictured above),  but they’re all linked to the sites where you can actually buy them. Some Pinterest pins are linked to the online store, you may say, so how is this really different? Well. You can also post “help me find it” prowls if you’re looking for ideas or something specific. Fellow prowlers can share insight and assist in the prowly mission of never shopping alone. I love it! Thanks to one of my new favorite blogs to stalk, Smile and Wave, for introducing me!

theprowl

  • Parenthood truths: This one actually came through a Facebook post from my dear Emily. Every parent (especially perfectionist moms!) needs to read this. The moral of the story is to accept that you can’t be a perfect parent, and you shouldn’t judge others for not being perfect parents. The post just filled me with feel-good brotherly/sisterly love and made me want to hug every single one of my fellow moms and say, “It’s okay. I’m borderline crazy all the time, too. And if you’re not, I won’t resent you just because I am.”
  • DIY glitter wooden spoon favors: Discovered through Oh the lovely things, these fabulous wedding favors could also just be a plain old gift or stocking stuffer. I have been very slow to jump on the DIY bandwagon, mostly because I’ve had my hands full doing all sorts of other things myself, but I think I might just have to try making these.

ST_DIY_glam_glittered_wooden_spoon_wedding_favors_0009

  • This wonderful quote posted by Design Mom: “Concerning all acts of initiative and creation, there is one elementary truth, the ignorance of which kills countless ideas and splendid plans: that the moment one definitely commits oneself, then Providence moves, too. All sorts of things occur to help one that would never otherwise have occurred. A whole stream of events issues from the decision, raising in one’s favor all manner of unforeseen incidents and meetings and material assistance, which no man could have dreamt would have come his way.” –  Scottish mountaineer, W.H. Murray

I must say, I am SO glad I’ve returned to blogging. There is so much *extraordinary* stuff out there that I’ve been missing. I will continue to share my favorites and hope my friends and (future) blog readers will, too!

Leave a Reply

